Finding empathy in the dark

May 4, 2010 § 2 Comments

Finding Empathy In The Dark
Marsha, Thank you for inviting me to tour Dialog in the Dark – it was an extraordinary exhibition and an extraordinary experience. As a visual artist the thought of living without sight is frankly terrifying and it was with no small amount of apprehension that I embarked on the tour, but I am so glad that I have experienced this. To be adrift in the dark was not how I imagined it, the presence of the other members of my group were reassuring and our steadfast guide, Erik, was a true comfort. A beacon in the dark, his voice was our guide and no light was necessary for him to steer us away from danger and into a new appreciation of the palette of our senses and a new gratitude for the one sense that we temporarily set aside for that short time. We were tourists in his world, safe in knowing that ours was just a door and a curtain away, but enriched to have stumbled together in the dark. I hope anyone who might read this will go take part in this moving experience and learn that we don’t need our eyes to see each others’ humanity.

-David

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Finding empathy in the dark

  • Keira says:

    Hi there. I just wanted to say how moving I found this piece. The phrase ‘ we don’t need our eyes to see others humanity’ touched me. I have an interested in using colour as a therapy and this gave me some deep thought about how one would work with people who had lost their sight. Thanks for something thought provoking and touching.

    • davidscohen says:

      Keira, if you should ever have the opportunity to experience the Dialog in the Dark exhibit you’ll find it far more moving than my words could ever be, but I thank you for this very nice comment.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Finding empathy in the dark at David S. Cohen - Left Brain, Right Brain.

meta

