I want a jingle

July 9, 2008 § 5 Comments

Chock Full O\' Nuts

Confession time, I miss the age of jingles. Sure they still linger around on radio and turn up on the odd low-budget commercial, but there was a time when jingles ruled the Earth. You younger readers might not remember “Chock Full O’ Nuts is the heavenly coffee…” but certainly you know “Plop, plop, fizz, fizz….” or the Oscar Meyer Weiner song, or the nigh-operatic “My bologna has a first name….” I’m not that old, am I? Well nonetheless, I want a jingle. Something snappy and memorable, something to look back on with nostalgia in my dotage. And why don’t more marketers have jingles? You know something like “You get more lather from Ogilvy & Mather.” Well you get the idea.

So resolved, Equation Arts needs a jingle, something with the nerdy folkiness of a Jonathan Coulton with a touch of the art school quirkiness and humor of a James Kochalka.

So I started here:

Sales were weak, were we forgotten?

Our brand was sad and just seemed tired,

The story felt bland and uninspired,

Brand Therapy is what we desired.

This where the good part starts:

Along came Equation Arts!

Logic and creativity, not insults.

Whole Brand Thinking, made our brand a cult!

Naah, too long. Then I thought maybe Oscar Meyer was on to something with that spelling thing:

“E” “Q” “U” “A” “T” “I” “O” “N,”

“A” “R” “T” “S,” your brand’s best friend!

Snappy, but doesn’t really say much, so I got a little abstract:

Left Brain, Right Brain — both are real.

You can’t just think, you also have to feel.

Short, and got the essence, but where’s the company name? So for the time being I’ve settled on:

If you want to win your customers’ hearts,

Get Brand Therapy from Equation Arts.

Anyone got a melody for me?

§ 5 Responses to I want a jingle

  • Harris says:

    One more for you…

    “If you want to improve your customers’ brands
    Put them into Equation Arts’ hands.”

  • potentialrevealed says:

    A modern jingle that seems to have amazing recall for people is the Empire Carpet folks. They end every ad with “1-800-588-2300. Empire.” WIth the catchy melody, excellent harmony, and probably the fact that numbers are in the jingle itself. I read somewhere that it is one of the most common phone numbers in consumer databases because lots of people, when asked to give a phone number (say, at Best Buy at the POS), give the Empire number instead.

    So, maybe all you need is a singable phone number and little melody that sounds nice signing “E – Quay – jun, Arrr – Erts”.

  • davidscohen says:

    @potentialrevealed Yeah that Empire one is sticky. I think it is because it fuses a jingle with a musical signature. The latter being things like the Intel sound or McDonald’s “I’m loving it” melody. On their own they don’t provide a lot of information, but they act as strong identifiers. The Empire jingle does both. Call it a “microjingle”?

    Now I really need a melody! Any volunteers? If anyone out there comes up with something post it on YouTube and send me a link! :)

  • potentialrevealed says:

    http://www.greatbigsea.com/music/discography/cd/Something.aspx. Click on “When I am King”. I always thought the last couple of bars and line “the world will sing when I am king” would make a great little jingle. I say this line (in a Daddy, sing-songy voice) all the time to my kids (when I want them to get off the negative, and onto the positive) :-)

  • davidscohen says:

    @potentialrevealed I like it – definitely has some stickiness. Still hoping someone might submit something new and quirky. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I want a jingle at David S. Cohen - Left Brain, Right Brain.

meta

